The Spirit of the Fourth of July

Every Monday I attempt to share a wide variety of things that are important to our business, things that frustrate me about our business and yes, sometimes, things about our business that inspire me.  What does this Monday, the Monday before the Fourth of July, have me thinking about?

Today I am thinking about our business.  I am thinking about words from the REALTOR Code of Ethics – That we have a “grave social responsibility and a patriotic duty”  to maintain and improve the standards of our calling.

Today I am thinking about our country, about September 11, 2001 and how things changed forever in our country – has nearly sixteen years passed so quickly?  I am thinking about our troops, all the men and women serving our country all over the world…serving so that we may peacefully enjoy and celebrate this week, the Fourth of July.

Today I am thinking about our history, how we came to celebrate the Fourth of July. July 4th has been a federal holiday in the United States since 1941, but the tradition of Independence Day celebrations goes back to the 18th century and the American Revolution. From 1776 until the present day, July 4th has been celebrated as the birth of American independence.  I am thinking about fireworks, parades, concerts and family gatherings and barbecues.

Today I am thinking about how proud I am to be an American.  Proud to be a daughter, a wife, a mother, a friend and yes, proud to be a REALTOR(R).

What are you thinking about this Fourth of July – how will you be celebrating? Let us all celebrate peacefully this Fourth.

Until Next Monday…

This entry was posted in 2016 President, A Better You, Conversations, Ethics, Florida REALTORS, General, Real Estate and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

