Initials…….Who, Why and Where?

head on deskHere is a great headbanger: Initials! ANY and all changes to a contract must be initialed, by the Buyer and the Seller.  If there are 3 Sellers and 2 Buyers….ALL have to initial.  If one initial is missing, you do not have an executed contract.  Please caution your customer or customers, they must all initial.  I even have my customers initial hereinitial the pages that don’t require initials anywhere on a page…as in some of the addenda.  That way, someone can’t replace them with the page that didn’t need initials.  What, you say, who would do that? I am not saying anyone would but I protect my customers and don’t want any problems down the road.  I made a mistake one time by relying on the Buyer’s agent telling me they had given the Buyers all the condo documents and they left out the financial statement.  The Buyers backed out at the last minute saying they had not received all the condo documents.  Stupidly I relied on the Buyer’s agent.  I never relied on anyone else again.  So initial and make sure all is done correctly and YOU make sure so you won’t be a headbanger!

So my fellow REALTORS, let’s be good to each other and treat each other as we would like to be treated.

Until Next Monday…

Monday Mornings With Matey

This entry was posted in 100 Years of Service, 2016 President, A Better You, Rants and Raves, Risk Management, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

