Common Courtesy…Please!

call me backHave you ever been called for a showing appointment for one of your listings and driven a distance as this listing is considerably further away from your office? Of course you have.  You arrive at the property and make sure it is neat, and (yes I have made a bed from time to time) or even if it is vacant, you make sure you are there before the showing time. Of course you have.  And then you wait, and wait and call the agent, leave messages. Of course you have.  Finally the agent calls you and says I cannot reach them and I have called them all day.  I try desperately to be civil, but the older I get the less patience I have and sometimes (not often) ask , “Did your mother not teach you any manners?”  My husband says I am getting too aggressive!

This happens more and more as there is no regard for common courtesy, no respect for thehead on desk other REALTOR.  If I am running 5 or 10 minutes late, I call, but it seems no one else does.  I work with several attorneys and list properties all over the city.  Many of these are all over the Dade County area, and of course our area is not known for little traffic, so before I start out to show, I call the other agent and confirm, AGAIN….to no avail, and I still get a call 30 minutes after the appointment saying I am sorry but we can’t make it or I can’t get in contact with my client.  This is one of those head pounding on the desk moments and why I then wonder why am I  in this business.  But then I run across more REALTORS that are considerate than not, thank heavens or my head would have a permanent dent in it.

rant and raveSo my fellow REALTORS, I am sorry as the last couple of blogs have been my rants and ravings, but sometimes I just can’t help it and I feel better when I vent.  So have a wonderful week and hope all are on time and much is sold!

Until Next Monday…

Monday Mornings With Matey

This entry was posted in 100 Years of Service, 2016 President, A Better You, Conversations, Florida REALTORS, Professional, Professionalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

