Leadership Grows on You

Leadership in dictionaryAs I travel through the state installing new leadership for 2016, it never ceases to amaze me the potential leadership base we have in our state.  I wonder what actually contributes to a leader.  I know that I was asked to get involved and then was tasked to ask as I moved through the years.

I don’t think leaders are born, I think it’s
trial and error.  I don’t think you wake up one morning and decide to become a leader.  I think it grows on you as you watch and learn from others that have stepped up and leadershipdecided that they wanted to contribute to an association, a business, a district or a cause.  Yes we have a percentage of that group that become leaders as it is all about the ego.  I call it ME, ME… it’s all about ME!  This is not to say you can’t have an ego, or what I call confidence in yourself to lead but you also must recognize that you need to set an example and bring others up behind you.

I have two quotes that I love:

Great leaders don’t set out to be a leader, they set out to make a difference, it’s not about the role it’s about the goal.

If you inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more…you are a leader.

Until Next Monday,

Matey sig

 

 

This entry was posted in 2015 President Elect, 2016 President, A Better You, Conversations, Leadership and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

