Take Me To Your Leader!

I had the good fortune and the privilege of speaking to a group of  REALTOR leadership students this week.  It was an amazing experience.  I don’t know if they learned from me but I learned from them…I learned from researching the traits and qualities of a leader.

Leader

Communication, although I have discussed this before in previous blogs, is important in all phases of your business career.  When a leader communicates, they deal with passion, for whatever they are involved in.  Leaders have an ability to get others to follow them, because of what they inspire in others.  Humility, in regards to never being afraid to ask a leadership sign postquestion.  We don’t know everything, even though some days we wish we did. Sense of humor, be able to laugh at yourself. Confidence, don’t mistake confidence for ego.  We all have an ego, overinflated is not a quality to aspire to.  Confidence to allow someone else to take the credit for what was done.  It is not an I, I, me,me, but a we and us.   Assertiveness, which is to not be mistaken for aggressiveness, the ability to stand for what you believe is in the best interests of those you represent.

Know your strengths and weaknesses and don’t be afraid to fail, some of the greatest lessons we have learn are through failure.  It’s not how you win but how you lose that shows your character.

So my fellow REALTORS, with every blog I write, I learn from the written work, seeing my thoughts in print makes me reaffirm what I do and what I believe. Let’s be respectful of each other. Let’s be good to each other…let’s be REALTOR leaders!

Until Next Monday…

Monday Mornings With Matey

This entry was posted in 2014 Vice President, 2015 President Elect, A Better You, Conversations, Florida REALTORS, Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

