Vacation? What is That?

MV1As I look out over the back patio onto the golf course and the Catalina Mountains, I remember: I am not in Florida, I am in Tucson, Arizona. It is beautiful. The weather is cold, well, not really – it’s 65 and the sky is clear. I know you are thinking, are you on “vacation“? Well kind of. I know for the longest time, the word “vacation” has been a bad word in my real estate family, MV2almost as bad as a curse word. God forbid we should take vacation. We don’t deserve a vacation. Our clients would have cardiac arrest if we are not there to hold their hands! So I have taken a week’s vacation. It’s like I am an addict for work and can’t say the word vacation. I am afraid if I leave all h–l will break loose and all my deals will die – my clients will leave me – so I just don’t take any time off.

MV3Well I decided to go into rehab and bite the bullet and go for a week. For the first couple of days, I was a little crazy. I had my laptop, iPhone and iPad – literally my whole office. I left my poor husband home to handle all my whatever, deals, kids, dogs, my mother etc. I am happy to report: All is well. I am leaving for home tomorrow. Oh and I didn’t mention I am here visiting my sister and brother in law, who come out here every year to “vacation“.

MV5So now you are wondering why am I writing about this? When was the last time you took time off? A week-end, a week? Many of you are thinking right now: I can’t remember. Well as a former addict, I am here to say: You need to do this!  A day, week-end, a week, or even a couple of weeks – we deserve this. We work hard. Sometimes 24/7. You need time to shut your brain off, relax and enjoy the quiet…enjoy your family or just enjoy time alone.

MV8Shhh, don’t say anything but next year, I am going to take my husband. He doesn’t know it yet but he is going! Where, who knows? But we are going, even if I have to kidnap him. He is like the rest of you (not me, I learned): The word vacation is a bad word. So all my fellow REALTORS: Take some time to kick back and relax. It is important to your health, your family and you.

Until Next Monday…

Monday Mornings With Matey

This entry was posted in 2014 Vice President, 2015 President Elect, A Better You, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vacation? What is That?

  1. Sharon Millett says:

    I am laughing Matey, as for the first time in 47 years Jerry and I are taking a month vacation, here in FL! Can’t believe we are actually away the whole month of February. Never had a non working vacation before…… And I am loving it! Hugs to you and Moe – see you in NYC next month!

    SHARON MILLETT Sent from my iPhone

    On Feb 17, 2014, at 8:28 AM, Monday Morning With Matey wrote:

    WordPress.com Matey Veissi posted: “As I look out over the back patio onto the golf course and the Catalina Mountains, I remember: I am not in Florida, I am in Tucson, Arizona. It is beautiful. The weather is cold, well, not really – it’s 65 and the sky is clear. I know you are thinking, ar”

Leave a Reply

