RPAC – my business insurance

R P A C

REALTORS® Political Action Committee

RPAC logo

Someone new to the real estate industry asked me the other day:  “What is RPAC…is it just the Association’s way of soliciting money?”
I pointed to a pin on my collar, my RPAC pin and replied: “This is the most expensive piece of jewelry I own”

Let me put it this way: I pay a total of  $4000 – $6000 for my homeowners, windstorm and flood insurance – that’s just like RPAC…let me explain. My home is my investment. I need to protect it from any hazard ~ hurricanes, floods, wind and a multitude of other minor or major catastrophes. So what does that have to do with RPAC? Real estate is my business. Real estate is how I pay my mortgage, feed my kids and pay my bills. I love selling real estate. But if the business is slowly eroded over time because of government regulation and laws ~ that may prevent me from doing business. So RPAC is my business insurance… just like insurance for my home.

Several years back, the Florida Legislature enacted a law that charged 6% tax on our commissions. I remember writing a check to the Fla. Dept of Revenue for the tax every time I closed a sale ~ it was a killer to say the least. The Florida REALTORS® Association got together and fought that tax and won…so much so that Governor Jeb Bush at the time called the current President of our state Association and told him…Call them off…meaning us REALTORS®.   We were on a Call to Action. It took money to do that. That’s what RPAC is for!  Amazingly, if each and every one of us gave just $25, we wouldn’t need Sterling R, Crystal R or Golden R Investors…we would ALL be investing in our business.  If we all encouraged our agents to email our legislators using the Call to Action when onerous legislation comes up ~ it is amazing what we could accomplish.
So RPAC is our insurance for our livelihood. I would love to leave our business to my sons, but if we don’t get more involved and contribute to RPAC, I may not have a business to leave.

RPAC2

Since 1969, the REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) has promoted the election of pro-REALTOR®candidates across the United States. The purpose of RPAC is clear: REALTORS® raise and spend money to elect candidates who understand and support their interests. The money to accomplish this comes from voluntary contributions made by REALTORS®. These are not members’ dues; this is money given freely by REALTORS® in recognition of how important campaign fundraising is to the political process. RPAC doesn’t buy votes. RPAC enables REALTORS® to support candidates that support the issues that are important to their profession and livelihood.

Calls for Action and Issues Awareness 

When Congress is considering legislation that affects the real estate industry, NAR calls on its members to act. Simply by contacting your Member of Congress through an e-mail or a phone call, you can ensure that your business remains strong. NAR members join together and speak with one loud, powerful voice.

Until Next Monday…

Monday Mornings With Matey

This entry was posted in 2013 Treasurer, 2014 Vice President, Florida REALTORS, RPAC & Political Involvement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RPAC – my business insurance

  1. Kathleen Gallagher McIver says:

    Great post Matey!! I couldn’t agree with you more! RPAC is SO important to our business – Keep up the good work. Hope you are staying warm in Miami ;-D

    Regards,

    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

