There’s no place like home

What an amazing week of meetings in our Nation’s Capitol, but it sure does feel good to back home.  The last several days in Washington DC made me think of my profession as more than listing and selling houses.  As REALTORS®, we sell homes every day and sometimes we take what we do as a matter of everyday work.  We are providing a place of security, love, building a family, educating children, a peaceful haven and so much more.  It was amazing the feelings that I took away from these meetings. More education, more introspection, more emotion and much more pride in my fellow REALTORS® in what we do every day.

At The Rally To Protect The American Dream, I heard President Moe refer to a live report that he watched while the 9/11 attacks were happening.  A reporter stopped a survivor whose clothes were black and he was covered with soot.  The reporter was hoping for an interview and stuck a microphone in his face and the gentleman said, “I just want to go home, I just want to go home“.  How many times do we say that in a day?  “I’m going home“.  “I’m so happy to be home.   Home is where they love us:  husband, wife, children, father, mother and yes, our pets.  Home is our place of shelter, our cocoon, our security, our place of rest.  Home is where we all want to be.

I’m reminded of that famous line from the Wizard of Oz when Dorothy clicks her heels together and says, “There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home“.  Yes, it was an amazing week in DC but I agree with Dorothy…There is no place like home!

Let’s be extra kind to each other.  Let’s all carry the Rally feeling with us every day!

Until next Monday…

This entry was posted in Florida REALTORS, MId-Winter Meetings, REALTOR Rally, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s no place like home

  1. Mike McGraw says:

    I can only speak for myself, but my home is my sanctuary, it is where I find peace and quiet. Home is a great place! Thanks to you and Moe for being great representatives for the members. Mike

Leave a Reply

