Can you see me face-to-face?

Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, Google+, Four Square…Social Media is literally everywhere. We communicate everyday, but when was the last time you communicated face-to-face, and I don’t mean via Skype?  I know we cannot see each other all the time, distance makes it difficult for many of us.  But somehow I find it easier to establish a relationship with a client or friend face-to-face.  I can see expressions, I can watch body language, I can find out where someone is coming from or how they are feeling.  All the Social Media in the world can’t help me do that.  Society is losing the personal touch that was once treasured and I really do miss that personal touch.

Don’t get me wrong, social media has it’s place.  We can communicate  with large numbers of people using Social Media.  We can develop meetings, advertise our listings and properties, expand our horizons, but we can’t achieve closeness, or camaraderie.  Social Media lacks the personal touch and I miss the personal touch.

Let’s turn back the hands of time: In the 60’s everyone wrote letters and made phone calls. Fast forward to the 90’s to a thing called a cell phone.  The Internet grew more and more popular.  Snail mail was replaced by e-mail.  Many people today replace their phone calls with texts and FB posts.  The fact is that society is changing rapidly, every day brings change. I accept and yes, welcome change but I repeat: I miss the personal touch.

I truly enjoy sitting in a seminar and learning from an expert.  I feel, see and hear their passion and enthusiasm and it makes me want to learn.  So are you one of the ones hiding behind your computer?  If so, come on out every now and then, it’s a whole new world out there.

Until Next Monday…

This entry was posted in Conversations, Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can you see me face-to-face?

  1. Matey, Matey, Matey…you know how much I use and leverage Social Media…but you are so right on with this post. We need to balance high tech with high touch.

  2. Matey says:

    Deborah, I love your seminars because of your knowledge and enthusiasm. Face to face really inspires in many instances!!

Leave a Reply

