Professionalism with a Capital P

Showing Instructions Mean Professional Responsibility.    Has this ever happened to you: I pull up a listing on the MLS that meets my buyers criteria and decide to show the property, it then takes me days to either get an appointment or to just get the listing agent to call me back!!   Why?  Are the listing agents too busy?  Or do they just not want to sell the property?  One supposed agent I recently contacted was also selling security systems, I say supposed because his name was not on the MLS but was in the broker remarks to call.  He confirmed and never did show up. Doesn’t he have a responsibility to the seller to show up for appointments and help facilitate the sale of the property?  Doesn’t he have a Professional responsibility to contact me if he can’t make the appointment?

One property I tried for 4 days and 6 calls to get an agent to call me about an appointment.  I finally had to call the manager to get the agent to call me.  She says,”I’ve been showing the property multiple times over the last few days”.   I don’t understand, she couldn’t return my call  so I could show the property?  Why take a listing if you aren’t going to cooperate and show it so that ultimately the property sells?  Isn’t that the idea?  Responsibility, no one seems to be responsible anymore….responsible to the owner, to your fellow agents or maybe I should use the dreaded word….our Profession, after all that’s what it comes down to, being a professional in the real estate Profession.

I think many of us don’t believe we work in a Profession, hence we may not be Professional. So we don’t return our calls in a timely fashion, we don’t cooperate and we certainly don’t care enough about each other in our Profession!  I am not sure why we call it a Profession if we aren’t Professionals!  How do we change this to Professionalism with a capital P?  Way back when we used to refer to this as just plain old good manners and good business practices….Thoughts?

P.S. Look to the right and you’ll see that this week’s Link is to “Cell Phone Etiquette for Real Estate Professionals”…enjoy!

Until next Monday….

This entry was posted in Professional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Professionalism with a Capital P

  1. Judi Rutland says:

    I have experienced the same frustrations. How can we get brokers/agents to work at a professional level? I dare say, if professionalism is not “in” the person, it can’t be taught. One is either professional or they are not. When hiring I would in my interviews ask some pointed questions about professionalism in their past lives…if I did not see the twinkle in the eye I passed on the agent prospect. As professional leaders we know when someone has “it” and when they don’t. When I show property I try to avoid those unprofessional broker/agents if there are better options for the customer. As far as good manners and professional etiquette that is gone with the wind. Try sending out invitations with a RSVP….see what happens.

    • Matey says:

      Thanks for your imput, you cannot imagine what this subject has inspired. I didn’t realize everyone else is having the same problem.

  2. You are so correct. I still get multiple calls daily for an agent we actually terminated nearly 2 years ago who habitually refuses to answer calls, respond to text messages or emails. This is such bad service to his sellers and a total disrepect for his fellow Realtors and our Code of Ethics.

  3. mariluemaris says:

    I love the associates that are only available between 11-1 for phone calls. Does the seller know of this limitation? Good grief! Professionalisn needs to return to our market place. Thank you for such an interesting topic, Matey and thanks Judi for your insight! Hey all you sales associates….are you REALtors or FAKEtors! Let’s get REAL!

  4. I loe this topic-I could write several chapters on the lack of communication between agents and the total lack of response when making appointments. I called “one of the top agents in Naples” a week ago to show her listing; she called me back 3 days later! Another one called me back a week later-said she hadn’t been checking her messages or emails! I was really hoping that this market would sift through the unprofessional agents and send them in a different direction-apparently that didn’t happen! I think that if we all continue to focus on our professionalism, then maybe we can impact one person at a time-I am ever hopeful.

Leave a Reply

